Uncategorized

I (Still) Wanna Be A Marksman!

In the University of the Philippines, we were fortunate enough to be allowed to choose the Physical Education (PE) classes we wanted. There was a wide array of choices, from PE 1 (which was a lecture class), to dances, to martial arts, to ball sports, and a lot more!

I really wanted to enrol in marksmanship class, but as a non-graduating student, the chance of getting into this class was pretty slim. So I put off taking my last PE until I was graduating so I would be given priority during enrolment. After the long wait, I got in the class which gave me my ONE and ONLY 1.0 grade in the university πŸ™‚

Fast forward to today, I finally got my hands on weapons again πŸ™‚ I was assigned to a site for the first time, and on my second day and first weekend here in my new camp, Mary Jean and I were in the shooting range learning the ropes of being a marksman! πŸ™‚ We were taught basic safety when shooting then we were taught proper posture in firing a 9mm pistol and a rifle. I am looking forward to be taught how to fire a machine gun in the future. Whoa!

13 years after this novice marksman’s first grip of a gun, she knows she still wants to be a good marksman! Training and equipment are free which encourages me to develop the skill some more.

Mary Jean and I were like kids taken out to the park on a weekend by their dad. I woke up early to make sure I won’t be left behind, excited with the activity. And true to my expectation, it was an enjoyable and fun-filled Friday morning.

Here’s proof in our photos. Enjoy!

*** Special thanks to the site COR for inviting us to join them in the range today, and to our trainer Jimmy for the patience in teaching “old dogs new tricks” and for an open invitation to open-range Fridays πŸ™‚

The range… and the perfect backdrop for a fun day!
Setting up!
Putting up the targets
Toys for the big boys and girls πŸ™‚
Raising the red flag to alert employees that the range is in use

Mary Jean likes it big!

I like my pistol!
 
Students of the day
 
THE target!

ο»Ώ

Ladies listening intently to their instructor

Mary Jean fires!

ο»Ώ

Then, me!

With our target sheet

 

Leave a Reply

