Travel

Where to Stay in Bali: Mawa House, Ubud

There is a wide variety of choices where one can stay at in Bali. One can opt to stay in budget in hostels or pamper themselves in luxurious villas, where price ranges from about 15$ a night to 500$ or probably even 1000$. Curious about the difference, I decided to book different accommodations in different areas in our vacation in Bali. No, the cheapskate in me wouldn’t book even a 200$ room. My budget ranged from 60$ to 81$ where the booking site says it is on 50% discount.

In Ubud, I felt like staying in a guesthouse. Ubud is the cultural capital of Bali and I felt that staying with a Balinese family rather than in a hotel adds to the cultural touch of our stay. Browsing www.agoda.com again and again, this charming Balinese house caught my eye. MAWA HOUSE. I was a bit apprehensive booking a room at first because there were only a few reviews that time. However, a part of me debated as all of the comments highly recommend this guesthouse. And I am glad to have followed my gut feel.

THE LOCATION – ♥♥

Depending on your preference, the location of Mawa House is either a “blessing or a curse”. The house is located in Jl. Nyuh Bojog, at the quiet area 1 minute away from Monkey Forest. Why blessing? The place is quiet and is a good place to relax and unwind. There are a few restaurants and massage salons nearby. However, it is quite a walk from Ubud Center, about 20 minutes walk, and passing through the dark Monkey Forest at night may not be attractive to you. We took a taxi from Ubud Center to Mawa House and I found it a bit expensive. You can always rent a motorbike for 50,000 Rupiah, though.

THE ROOM – ♥♥♥♥♥

We were given room #1, a Balinese-designed room detached from the main house. It has a small porch where our breakfasts are to be served, an adequately sized bedroom with a 4-poster bed, ceiling fan and A/C. The room has no TV, though, and I am not sure you’d need one. The bathroom/toilet is Balinese open-bathroom. I immediately felt like I was on a honeymoon. Oooopsss, I’m with the brother. Hehe…

DSCN6847

DSCN6849

DSCN6865

THE HOUSE – ♥♥♥♥♥

Mawa House is a gem located behind a traditional Balinese home. It has a small swimming pool that we never get to use. I found out that they have a mini-library which houses a few pocketbooks and magazines. The place is very quiet, very good for relaxing.

DSCN6876

 DSCN6852

Breakfast is included in our room rate and we have a choice of either a Continental, Balinese and “I-forgot-the-name-of-the-one-with-traditional-pancakes” meal. My brother would place an order in the morning and they were all cooked fresh. Everything in the menu was good and I was always looking forward to breakfasts in the patio.

     DSCN6873

DSCN6874

DSCN6937

But if there is one thing that made our stay remarkable it is Mawa House’s staff. We felt taken cared of from the time we checked in late in the evening til we checked out one early morning. The staff were genuinely polite and accommodating. We would leave in the morning and come back in the afternoon to find out that our room was made, again and again. Our room was always clean. They would turn on the electric mosquito repellent in the rooms in the afternoon. They allowed us to use their telephone for free to contact our driver who stays in Kuta area.

And the best part of it? When we were about to leave, we were sent off by one of the staff and never left until our car left. I thought it was a nice touch of home…

Leave a Reply

