Travel

Amid the Lavenders of Sequim

In July, 2012, my grandmother, my uncle and I were attending my cousin’s wedding in Spokane, Washington.

The wanderlust in me searched for places in Washington that’s worth visiting while we were there. Of course, Seattle was in the list. And, what else…

I found out that there was a Lavender Festival happening in a quaint town of Sequim (pronounced Skwim) a few days after our visit in Washington. I was lured by the idea of a Provence-like atmosphere and purple fields as far as my eyes can see. I told my uncle to include it in our itinerary.

BUT…

My uncle had already booked our airline tickets which connects in Portland to Spokane. Sequim is in West Washington while Spokane in in East, bordering Idaho. Sequim would have been more realistic if we connected via Seattle as Sequim was just 2+ hours away via ferry and car from Seattle. If we do the Spokane-Sequim route, we would have to stay overnight in Seattle which is 4+ hours drive from Spokane.

I was so insistent and almost begging my uncle to find a way for us to see Sequim. The more I realized the impossibility of this want, the more I was obsessed to have it. Luckily, the “favorite niece magic” worked and uncle surprised me with his own plans when we landed in Spokane.

Uncle rented a car and we drove to Seattle that same day. We will be staying with his friend’s sister overnight and leave for Sequim the following morning. We also have to be in Spokane the following night for my uncle’s commitments to the wedding. I know I slave-drove my uncle, and I am super thankful that he became Superman to give me what I want. He barely slept and was soooo tired from all the driving he did. Grandma and I couldn’t drive. It probably could have been one of the longest 2 days in his life. Hehe…

Another shoutout also to Ate Jo’s sister who opened her Seattle home for us for the night. We had a good night sleep and a fantastic Filipino breakfast she prepared. Too bad she couldn’t come with us on our road trip.

The following morning, we woke up early for the 2+ hours travel to Sequim, including a ferry ride.

DSCN0520
My uncle on our ferry from Seattle to Sequim. He deserves a photo in this post as I wouldn’t have something to write about if not for his efforts to have me be amidst the lavenders. Thank you, Tito!

The road trip proved to be a pleasant one (not considering our tired bodies from practically a whole day of travel and lack of sleep) with the pleasant views of green mountains and blue waters complimented by fresh country air. Uncle said the good view and fresh air more than made up for his exhaustion, he was actually enjoying the road trip. We all were.

We made a short stop in Jamestown S’klallam Tribe to stretch and enjoy the American Indian tribal setting with water as its backdrop.

DSCN0550
Welcome to Jamestown S’klallam Tribe
DSCN0558
I was here!
DSCN0548
View from Jamestown S’klallam tribe

A little later, we reached Sequim. I immediately liked it for its small town charm. We went straight to look for the lavender fields.

DSCN0561
Yey! Finally, we are in Sequim!
DSCN0567
Sequim Lavender Festival lamp post banners
DSCN0705
Sequim town’s cute and rustic restrooms
DSCN0704
The quaint Sequim town proper

We passed by small lavender fields and we got lost somewhere that led us to a quiet little lake.

DSCN0573
lavenders… purples…
DSCN0574
t’was nice getting lost in this view

We asked around for a good place to see lavender fields and we were pointed to Graysmarsh Farm. This farm has lavenders and different kinds of berries, among others. They offer U PICK your own fruits for a price per weight. You have their whole farm to pick strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, loganberries, etc. I must say they have the juiciest and sweetest strawberries I have ever tasted.

DSCN0621
Berries and lavender fields of Graysmarsh Farm
DSCN0584
U-Pick? I PICK!!!
DSCN0593
strawberries
DSCN0599
blackberries
DSCN0602
I PICKED… so far
DSCN0615
HE PICKED TOO!
DSCN0618
raspberries
DSCN0619
loganberries
IMG_2989
fruit-picking… an enjoyable family activity!

If you don’t want to do the dirty work, they have freshly picked fruits and lavender products for sale.

DSCN0582
picked raspberries and herbs for sale
DSCN0664
the farm shop and reception area
DSCN0625
dried lavenders for sale
DSCN0668
For Sale Here: Fruit Preserves, Lavenders, U-Pick Stuff, Pre-picked Fruits…
This lady has been pleasant and warm, especially when she learned I am working in Afghanistan 🙂

Now the highlight of our trip… LAVENDERS!!!

We can pick lavenders and be charged per bundle. Of course we had to. I was having the time of my life taking photos and being photographed by my uncle amidst the purples. Grandma was having fun, enjoying nature and having fun watching us having fun. Uncle loves flowers. He too was having fun picking flowers. Ooohhh… It was an experience!

DSCN0581
lavender fields… forever. ooppss… shouldn’t it be strawberry fields?
DSCN0630
loving the love-anders…
DSCN0631
fresh and fragrant
DSCN0640
rustic. and am loving it…
DSCN0641
rows of greens and purples 🙂
DSCN0678
grandma and the lavender bouquet picked by my uncle
DSCN0680
uncle and grandma in Graysmarsh Farm
DSCN0682
lavender-harvesting is not just for family… for couples too! 😉

We bought a few souvenirs from the farm shop. My uncle loved the lavender oil we bought as it was concentrated unlike those bought from shops which doesn’t have that lavender smell anymore. While we picked blueberries, it turned out the pre-picked strawberries we bought were much tastier and sweeter. We should have bought more!

We finished our Sequim road trip with late Chinese lunch in town.

It’s a long road back home as we had to travel all the way to Spokane that night.

‘As Rosemary is to the Spirit, so Lavender is to the Soul.
–  Anonymous

Notes:

1. Getting to Sequim from Seattle, taken from http://www.visitsunnysequim.com/index.aspx?NID=130

Take Washington State Ferries’ Seattle / Bainbridge Island ferry. From Bainbridge Island, follow Highway 305 to Highway 3 in Poulsbo. Take Highway 3 to State Highway 104 crossing the Hood Canal Bridge. Continue on Highway 104 to U.S. Highway 101. Take Highway 101 west for 21 miles to Sequim. Take the Washington Street, Sequim Avenue, or River Road exits to take you into Sequim.

2. Check out schedule of the Annual Lavender Festival at this link: http://www.lavenderfestival.com/

Leave a Reply

