Travel

A Different Kind of Adventure in Penang’s Blue Mansion

Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion is one of the must-see attractions in Penang. With its distinct blue color, adding to its inherent old-world charm, it cannot be missed.

KL 447

Also called Blue Mansion, its claim to fame is the careful attention placed on feng shui, geomancy and numerology in its construction. The mansion is originally owned by a rich merchant, Cheong Fatt Tze.

Today, the mansion has been restored to save it from the ongoing developments in the mansion’s vicinity.  The mansion offers guided tours and has also opened its doors as a boutique hotel.

KL 442

KL 446

KL 445

KL 481

KL 480

Taking my whole family on a vacation in Kuala Lumpur and Penang in 2010, I thought I’d surprise them with a unique experience staying in a boutique hotel. I booked a room in Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion.

At the first sight of the hotel and a few minutes after we were checking in, my mother already had negative vibrations of the place. When we entered our room, while I appreciated the antique touch in the room, my mother all the more felt eerie. We were starting to argue, she, adamant that I made a wrong decision booking in this old mansion.

Since the room was already paid for, we thought to stay and give the mansion a “benefit of the doubt”. She relented.

We went out for the day to explore Penang and we forgot about the eerie feeling she has of our hotel.

Going back to our hotel at night, my siblings and I decided to check out the night hawker stalls close to the mansion for snacks. My mother and father went ahead to the room.

KL 475

KL 476

When we arrived, my mother was almost in tears of fright. She said that when they were by the spiral staircase, somebody inside the room in front of the staircase was trying to open the door forcefully. The area was dark then, and there was no sign of somebody staying in the room. The lights in that room was out.

Mother said that it couldn’t have been just her imagination as she and my father looked at each other at the same time when the door started to make a sound.

KL 439

I was thinking of a topic to post last night when I thought I’d write about this weird experience we had. I was having goose bumps myself that I thought I’d just write my article in the morning.

I googled Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion and there were reports of similar experiences. It all the more added to my scary feeling last night.

KL 444

KL 443

KL 437

KL 434

KL 479

KL 478

Are you tough enough to find out whether the mansion is haunted or not? Book yourself a room and find out! Don’t forget to share your own experience 🙂

 

More Information:

Location: 14 Leith Street, Penang

Website: http://www.cheongfatttzemansion.com/

 

There are an infinite number of universes existing side by side and through which our consciousnesses constantly pass. In these universes, all possibilities exist. You are alive in some, long dead in others, and never existed in still others. Many of our “ghosts” could indeed be visions of people going about their business in a parallel universe or another time — or both.

PAUL F. ENO, Faces at the Window

3 thoughts on “A Different Kind of Adventure in Penang’s Blue Mansion

Leave a Reply

