Travel

Solvang: California’s Denmark

Until 2012, Europe was my ultimate destination.

From a college friend who now lives in the USA, I learned about Solvang, California, a Danish-themed city in Sta. Barbara County. How could that be? Europe in US? Hmmm… I must go and find out.

It had to be in my itinerary when I visited my Uncle and Grandma in July, 2012. We went on an early morning roadtrip, stopping over at Sta. Barbara, then proceeding to fulfill this European dream in US.

Two years afterwards, I remember I said I have to write something about my visit to Solvang. A thank you letter would be nice.

Dear Solvang,

Back when Europe was just a dream, you gave me the chance to experience Europe. Two years after my visit to you, I have been to 7 European countries, with my first visit 6 months after seeing you.

I believe you brought me lucky charm. I believe the European magic dust has rubbed on me that Europe is never just a dream anymore. I am able to go to the real Europe.

Nevertheless, with you, I have enjoyed “Europe” with family, the way I have never experienced in my travels to the real Europe. Thank you for being the closest I could get to my dream that time. I had fun!

PS. I really liked your version of aebleskiver. I cant wait to try Denmark’s.

Love,

D

Anyhow, to relive the moment with Tito and Grandma, I wish to share with you these photos. It wasn’t an activity-heavy trip. We just went to soak in the European feel, window-shopped, tried aebleskiver and just walked around the city center.

In just one day, I have been to two continents and two countries – North America and Europe, USA and Denmark.

Enjoy Denmark in California!

DSCN3107

DSCN3090

IMG_3368

DSCN3102

DSCN3094

DSCN3109

DSCN3110

DSCN3121

IMG_3367

DSCN3165

DSCN3164

DSCN3163

DSCN3153

DSCN3152

DSCN3143

IMG_3366

IMG_3379

DSCN3127

IMG_3382

One thought on “Solvang: California’s Denmark

Leave a Reply

