Work

Time For A Cool Change

Sometimes it is awakened by a dream, a discontent, a nightmare, or by a bad day when everything didn’t go right and you hated everything you are/have, or by a good day when you are inspired and you get a feeling that you can change the world.

I’m talking about the call of change and heeding it.

This post is about another milestone in my life and a testimony of the times I was able to hear a voice, un-cracked random codes and felt a Higher Being guiding me throughout.

In a few weeks, my life will be changing its course. I will be saying goodbye to Afghanistan, my home for 5.5 years. I cant say whether I will walk these streets again due to the security situation in the country, but like how it was unimaginable for me 6 years ago to be living in a war-torn country, I cant really tell.

What I know though, is that as I look back almost a year ago, I can see a “Universe” working on this change. People were brought into my life, and they were catalysts for this change to happen.

A few months back, I already got a feeling that something’s cooking. I tried to take it, but it time wasn’t my time yet. I failed in my bid to look for a job elsewhere.

I decided to wait patiently. If the next scenario that I was thinking happens, my time was just around the corner. If not, I still have my job and I can be here for a little longer.

I went on with the daily grind, but I was conscious about “the voice”. I tried to look for signs and decipher its message. I was excited about the surprise that was waiting to unfold.

One morning on July 22nd, I experienced another tragic event just over a year after a really big and terrible one. I was tensed and stressed from the incident. I couldn’t sleep (so I had to turn the lights on all night, something I never did my whole life). I had flashbacks about my colleagues that passed away when they were still around. I was asking myself how much more of this am I going to take. I wasn’t going crazy, but I don’t want to push myself to my limits.

The morning after the tragedy, someone emailed me a job opportunity which was related to my failed bid a few months back. It was one of the best news anyone who was present during the attack could ever get. The news came at a perfect timing! It gave me so much hope and optimism.

Family, friends and (former) colleagues expressed concern about the situation here and thought that maybe it was time for me to look for a safer place to live in. Their concern was overwhelming, for not only did they express these in words, they started to look for job opportunities for me.

I spent time revising my CV, looking for jobs that I can apply for, getting in touch with people about possible job opportunities. And yes, I immediately sent in my CV to the job opening I learned about after the attack.

That strong feeling of bagging this job never left me. I knew it was just a matter of time, I could almost see myself signing an offer letter. I got interviewed even when the position was still open. Negotiations happened the day the position closed. I was almost there…

But my patience has yet to be tested.

The offer letter that was supposed to be sent to me after the negotiations, was sent 3 weeks later. My future supervisor was not able to complete the paperwork before he left for an official business and HR could not proceed further. When he arrived, it was the HR’s turn to be out for an OB. What a coincidence! I was getting worried that things could come up and the verbal offer would be called off.

I didn’t rest in confidence of this potential offer. I continued to look for other jobs, sent CV’s and sent some more.

As they say, que sera sera whatever will be, will be.

I got the offer letter, finally. The job is officially mine. And I cant wait to embark on a journey soon.

Sometimes it is awakened by a dream, a discontent, a nightmare, or by a bad day when everything didn’t go right and you hated everything you are/have, or by a good day when you are inspired and you get a feeling that you can change the world.

But this time, change was awakened by my own clamor for change. I felt the readiness or at least the courage be…

photo credits: http://33.media.tumblr.com/67a358cd35d335aa69015458ed391b74/tumblr_mvyqcmcXJ31re926to1_500.jpg
photo credits: http://33.media.tumblr.com/67a358cd35d335aa69015458ed391b74/tumblr_mvyqcmcXJ31re926to1_500.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

