Travel

Market Day Thursday: Marrakech’s Djemaa el Fna

Marrakech’s Djemaa el Fna is the heart and the main symbol of the city. I don’t think a visit to  Marrakech would be complete without visiting this market place, getting lost in its maze of market stalls and restaurants, entranced by the scent of colorful Moroccan spices on display and creating your own experience with the somehow unique experiences only in Djemaa!

Ms. A, my travel buddy, has introduced me to visiting local markets in my travels. that when we were planning to visit Marrakech, Djemaa el Fna was a “must-do” in our list.

From the Majorelle Gardens, we searched our way to Djemaa el Fna before dusk. True enough, Djemaa el Fna is not a place to “see” but to “feel”. The chaos in the picture below was our first view of the market, and instantly, I knew something would “happen”.

IMG_9392

If there was one word that can describe this market, it is CHAOTIC. Food stalls, fresh juice stalls, locals in their colorful and unique costumes to lure tourists, and doves also have a spot in this market!

IMG_9401

IMG_9398

IMG_9391

Barely setting my foot into the square and I was already victimized! The photo below of the snake charmer cost me 10 MAD or about 1$. If I had known, I would have asked the guy to give me a better pose so I could have taken a better shot. I got scared and just wanted to walk away, so I just handed him the money. I had been cautious taking photos in the markets afterwards, as I may lose money so fast just like that.

IMG_9394

More photos at the market. Despite my experience with the snake charmer, Djemaa has really a charm of its own. The sights, the sounds, the smell, the chaos, the colors will engulf you.

IMG_8733

IMG_8744

IMG_9387

IMG_9388

IMG_8742

IMG_8743

At night, the square comes even more alive,

IMG_8748

IMG_8746

IMG_8747

I encourage you to go there, just be wary, just be cautious just like we travelers normally do. But be entranced by its magic. After all, this is not a World Heritage Site for nothing!

One thought on “Market Day Thursday: Marrakech’s Djemaa el Fna

Leave a Reply

